Can't log in

Post Reply
Vidal
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:59 pm

Can't log in

Post by Vidal » Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:02 pm

So, I'm trying to create a new profile for Achaea, but I keep getting this:

System Message: Host name lookup Failure! Connection cannot be established. The server name is not
correct, not working properly, or your nameservers are not working properly.


Where the Profile Name is Achaea, Server Address is achaea.com, and Port is 23.

Am I missing something?

Thanks.

Ramiel
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:57 am

Re: Can't log in

Post by Ramiel » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:39 am

Silly question, but can you log in with other clients/telnet/etc?

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Heiko » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:00 am

Then your MUD or your nameserver is down. If it's the nameserver, try to connect via the ip address of your MUD.

Vidal
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:59 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Vidal » Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:21 am

Tried the IP address, still doesn't work. I'm getting the same message.

The MUD isn't down because I can still connect through Nexus, and MUSHclient works just fine for me too.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Heiko » Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:23 am

Are you behind a proxy? Because there's lots of people playing Achaea here.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4737
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Vadi » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:36 pm

Maybe there's some kind of IPv6 issue. What OS are you on?

Vidal
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:59 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Vidal » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:06 pm

I'm running Norton Anti-virus...if that's what a proxy is.. :|

Also, I'm on Vista.



Update: I fiddled around with Norton and now I don't get the "nameserver is down".

Instead, I get: System Message: trying to connect to 208.185.247.26:23 ...

and it stalls there indefinately.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Heiko » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:17 pm

I see. Your windows application firewall manager might keep Mudlet from connecting to the internet.
You need to grant Mudlet the right to access the internet.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4737
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Can't log in

Post by Vadi » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:21 pm

Well... try fiddling some more. It's not something Mudlet controls, it's in that program :?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests