PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

trentont101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:07 am

PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by trentont101 »

HOWDY THERE!!!

I am a very noob programmer and while I am pretty computer savvy, I am really struggling setting up a HP bar on my MUD profile.. YES I have read the article and NO I dont understand it :)
Here is my bar, I know... it looks exactly like the example... well this is where I am confused. How do I define the variables current_health and max_health??
how can I keep them current every time my prompt is read to the screen
would I use a trigger? if so how would i set the trigger to look for THOSE number?
also. I am about to post some mapping questions as well, if you are smart as heck give that a read too, you might just make my day!!

Thanks for any help you can give!!!!
MUD ON!

my prompt is as follows

"currenthealth/maxhealth >"


hpbar = Geyser.Gauge:new({
name="hpbar",
x="60%", y="20%",
width="45%", height="5%",
})
hpbar:setValue(current_health,max_health)

ERROR::::
Attempt to compare nil with number

icesteruk
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:16 pm

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by icesteruk »

how do you track currethealth and maxhealth??

trentont101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:07 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by trentont101 »

that is my questions ha,
on my mud i have a prompt
currenthealth / maxhealth >
obviously both change

icesteruk
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:16 pm

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by icesteruk »

you have to track it, as in use GMCP or another way to track your health..

like Do you have a sipper for health/mana?

Jor'Mox
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:19 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by Jor'Mox »

So, first you need a trigger to capture your prompt. Since your prompt is as you have described it, you should be able to use this as a pattern for the trigger: ^(\d+) / (\d+) >$
Note that the pattern given assumes your prompt looks like this:
100 / 500 >
If it is any different (other than having different numbers), then it needs to change to match what you see.
The code your trigger needs to execute is this:
current_health = matches[2]
max_health = matches[3]
hpbar:setValue(current_health or 0,max_health or 1)

You should change the place where you are declaring your health bar to match the line above, so that it doesn't have issues with nil values. If that doesn't work, let me know.

trentont101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:07 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by trentont101 »

Ok i am trying to keep up but struggling. You might have to dumb this down a bit but first..
CHEERS FOR YOUR RESPONSE!!! thank you!!
ok so
^(\d+) / (\d+) >$ goes in area 0 of a trigger matching a substring? so i need to mark "match all" "filter" multiline and triggER"

then
current_health = matches[2]
max_health = matches[3]
hpbar:setValue(current_health or 0,max_health or 1)


that goes in the bottom box of the trigger thing.

save it up, call it health,

now my script looks like this


hpbar = Geyser.Gauge:new({
name="hpbar",
x="60%", y="20%",
width="45%", height="5%",
})
current_health = matches[2]
max_health = matches[3]
hpbar:setValue(current_health or 0,max_health or 1)
current_health, max_health = tonumber(matches[2]), tonumber(matches[3])


any registered event handlers or whatever?

in this configuration now there is no nil error, but it is not working.

Jor'Mox
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:19 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by Jor'Mox »

You need to change the trigger type to regex, instead of substring. There is no need for the check boxes you mentioned to be checked. And you don't need the lines using "matches" in the definition portion of your script.

trentont101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:07 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by trentont101 »

Ok , it is set up correctly, still not working, i will take a break and work on it some more in a bit any more ideas?

Jor'Mox
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:19 am

Re: PLEASE HELP!!!! Using Gyser to create a HP bar

Post by Jor'Mox »

Can you post a screenshot of the trigger and the script that you have? Sometimes it is easy to miss something when debugging if I can't actually see it.


Post Reply