Help with statusbar label

Kalyth

Help with statusbar label

Post by Kalyth »

I'm attempting to migrate from zmud to mudlet and so I'm pretty new to mudlet.
I am trying to create a status bar that sits on the bottom of my screen and displays text according to triggers that fire. That part is simple enough and I have it working, but the problem comes when I'm trying to color the text according to the trigger.

Is there an easy way to do something like, label.cecho("<red>This is red text" .. " " .. "<blue>And this is blue text")? I found that when trying to do that the stylesheet I created for the label overrides the colors and it just sets it all to the color in the stylesheet. I also tried to use html formatting but I could not figure out a way to concat the tags so that I could throw in a variable as the text to display.

Thanks and sorry if I'm not coming across clearly.

Jor'Mox

Re: Help with statusbar label

Post by Jor'Mox »

Ugly, but it gets the job done.
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
echo(label_name, [[<font color="color_name">]] .. text .. [[</font>]])

Kalyth

Post by Kalyth »

Thanks, while not exactly what I was hoping for, that did show me how to concat tags together to use variables. I might be able to get this working now.

Jor'Mox

Post by Jor'Mox »

You did try this first, right?
cecho(label_name, "plain text <red> red text <blue> blue text <reset> more plain text")
And that is what wasn't working?

Kalyth

Post by Kalyth »

yea that doens't work, only displays "more plain text" and it comes out red (the color set by the stylesheet)

Jor'Mox

Post by Jor'Mox »

Yeah, I have had issues with getting the text in labels to be the color I want it to be. Hence why I had to resort to what I posted above. You can also use <b></b>, <center></center>, and other html tags to make it behave if it isn't doing what you want. Again, not ideal, but better than not making it work.

demonnic

Post by demonnic »