Really basic module scope question

brennanyoung

Really basic module scope question

Post by brennanyoung »

I am a software dev but a novice at lua and mudlet, and I am finding it extremely confusing to make use of general programming concepts (such as scope, modules, instantiation etc.) with mudlet.

I'm baffled about how these concepts may or may not apply to scripts, triggers and aliases. I've seen a thread on the forum which talks about how everything in mudlet uses the same namespace(!), but this mostly seems to be rants between devs about their preferences regarding packages or closures. Not really that helpful for me.

I can find nothing in the manual which tells me how trigger X might initialise a module in script Y. A really, really basic step.

Example: If I make a module script, such as the following (borrowed from lua-users.org/wiki/ModuleDefinition )
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
-- mymodule.lua
local M = {} -- public interface

-- private
local x = 1
local function baz() print 'test' end

function M.foo() print("foo", x) end

function M.bar()
  M.foo()
  baz()
  print "bar"
end

return M
and then (if I was not in mudlet) I could initialise the module and use it with
local MM = require 'mymodule'
MM.bar()
so... how might I do this from a trigger or an alias instead? What is the equivalent to "require" which would initialise a mudlet script rather than loading an external file? Do I have to use the file system? Can't I just treat a script like a module definition? Maybe I can, but how?

BTW a really basic example of this in the wiki would help a great deal.

Vadi

Re: Really basic module scope question

Post by Vadi »

Hey! Good question.

Modules in Lua are really just tables in the global table. Since you're an experienced software dev, I'll drop down into the low level details.