Mudlet Control Across Different Profile

beckham894

Mudlet Control Across Different Profile

Post by beckham894 »

I am just wondering if it is possible to control mudlet (e.g enable or disable trigger class) across different profile?
Let say if I am work on Profile A, but I want to tell Profile B to en/disable a specific trigger class without switching to Profile B.
Is this possible? Thanks.

jbrumble

Re: Mudlet Control Across Different Profile

Post by jbrumble »

Hello Beckham,

I'm fairly new to Mudlet, but I do have a solution that is a bit of a workaround for this.

Code: Select all

local updateStatus = "recoverStart" or {}
expandAlias(updateStatus)
raiseGlobalEvent("sysSendAllProfiles", updateStatus)
If you use this in one profile you can create an alias on the other profile that activates on "recoverStart" and has an enableTrigger() function.

I suspect that a better method does exist, but this is what I've been using currently.

Vadi

Post by Vadi »

raiseGlobalEvent() is the way to go!

I wouldn't use expandAlias(), but rather make a function:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
-- profile B:
control = control or {}
function control.updateStatus()
  disableTrigger("test triggers")
  print("disabling triggers worked!")
end

-- this handles calling the right function in the control table
function control.marshaller(_, callfunction)
  if control[callfunction] then control[callfunction]()
  else
    cecho("<red>Asked to call an unknown function: "..callfunction)
  end
end

registerAnonymousEventHandler("sysSendAllProfiles", "control.marshaller")

-- profile A:
raiseGlobalEvent("sysSendAllProfiles", "updateStatus")
raiseGlobalEvent("sysSendAllProfiles", "invalidfunction")

beckham894

Post by beckham894 »

I do know that there is a code raiseGlobalEvent()
however, that isn't what I want to do, because as far as I understand when I use raiseGlobalEvent to en/disable trigger class X; trigger class x will be en/disable in BOTH profile.