Where are the files for Profiles and Packages stored, and how do I save and restore them?

Laps

Where are the files for Profiles and Packages stored, and how do I save and restore them?

Post by Laps »

I'm just starting out with Mudlet, and I'd like to make sure the effort I put into making triggers, aliases, scripts, timers, keys, and variables is regularly backed up (and someday possibly even under some sort of version control, if I can rig it up).

To do that with confidence, I need to know where Mudlet stores the file(s) where all my stuff is persisted, and also how to load those the file(s) back into Mudlet when I want to use them elsewhere or revert to a previous version.

Either the Wiki page for Profiles and Packages is lacking, or I'm not looking in the right place for the documentation on this info:
https://wiki.mudlet.org/w/Manual:Profile_and_Packages

So far, here's what I've tried:

Profiles

Suppose I'm using a profiled named MyProfile.

The Wiki says:
To export your entire profile e. g. to make a backup on a flash drive, use the "save profile as" button.
When I save a profile via the Save Profile As button on the Script Editor, it creates a file named MyProfile.trigger in the directory that I specify.

Packages

The Wiki says:
To export just one item, you can select it and hit the 'Export' button on top of the script editor.
This doesn't seem particularly useful for my purpose - I want to back up everything. That said, note that it saves a some-filename.xml file wherever I specify.

From the Wiki:
To export many related items as one package, go to the Toolbox → Package Exporter (experimental).
This sounds closer to what I need, but still saving a Profile seems better (just wholesale save everything into a single file, assuming the answers to the above questions confirm that.

When I do this, it saves a some-filename.mpackage file where I specify.

Questions: