Practice Automation

xaknoir

Practice Automation

Post by xaknoir »

Just got back into a mud I played ages ago and am trying to use triggers to practice spells on one character while doing something less boring on another (our limit is 2 characters). The problem is I have no real code experience and the LUA stuff I've looked up so far makes no sense.

Id like to get data from the mud in the form of a list of spells (that would look like this but with more than 5):

You know of the following spells:
Spell1-----------------Spell Level: X----- Level: X (the ------ are a random number of spaces)
Spell2-----------------Spell Level: X-----Level: X
Spell3-----------------Spell Level: X----- Level: X
Spell4-----------------Spell Level: X-----Level: X
Spell5----------------- Spell Level: X-----Level: X

I only want to practice a spell if the spell level is under a value I choose, lets say 5. The "Level: X" at the right of each row is the level the spell is learned and is irrelevant for what I'm wanting to do.

Id like to practice Spell1 until I get a message from the client that the knowledge has increased. At which time the trigger would practice Spell2 and repeat until all spells can no longer be practiced and require a trip to a master to increase their level.
An echo like (Time to go see the trainer)...

P2racticing the spell is simply casting a low level of the spell over and over, which would look like:

cast 0 'spell1'

Casting: spell1****
X/XH X/XM X/XV XA XG XX > (this is character info that is displayed after each action/input)

Casting: spell1***
X/XH X/XM X/XV XA XG XX >

Casting: spell1**

Casting: spell1*

You complete your spell...
SpellCompletionMessage. (some kind of message based on what the spell does to the target)
Your knowledge of spell1 increases! (if the knowledge increase)
OR
You need to visit a master to learn more about spell1! (if it can no longer be practiced, would be removed from the list or skipped)