Can you make and use an array of variable names?

jwrobbs

Can you make and use an array of variable names?

Post by jwrobbs »

I have a bunch of variables. I'm trying to figure out a simple and clean way to do something simple to them like subtract 1 from them all.

Can I make an array of the variable names and use that in a function?

Is there a better way to manage this? A table?

The end goal is to update the variables tracking duration of spells each tick.

(I know php but I'm brand new to Lua.)

Thanks for the help!

Jor'Mox

Re: Can you make and use an array of variable names?

Post by Jor'Mox »

So, in Lua, anything that looks remotely like an array... is a table. Tables are the only variable type that can hold more than a single value in Lua. To track spell durations, I would recommend a keyed table, with the spell names as the keys, and the durations as the values. Here is a bit of example code showing the basics you need to make that happen.
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
-- First, obviously, you need to make a table, I'll declare it here for clarity
-- note that Lua treats any variable value other than FALSE or NIL as TRUE for logic purposes, allowing for some complex variable declarations.
local spell_table = spell_table or {}

-- then you could create a new entry like this
spell_table["armor"] = 10

-- OR

local spell_name = "armor"
local spell_duration = 10
spell_table[spell_name] = spell_duration

-- to run through all your spells, and subtract 1, you would do this
for k, v in pairs(spell_table) do
    spell_table[k] = v - 1
end

jwrobbs

Post by jwrobbs »

Thanks, Jor'Mox! That clears up a lot and is exactly what I was looking for.

jwrobbs

Post by jwrobbs »

1 more question.

What is the best place to declare a table? Is it okay if I put it in a trigger and it runs multiple times? Or should I put it somewhere else?

Jor'Mox

Post by Jor'Mox »

jwrobbs wrote:
Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:09 pm
1 more question.