Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post Reply
aloc_acoc
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:12 pm

Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by aloc_acoc » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:05 am

Hi guys,

I'm running Windows 7

I'm at a loss here... For some reason my script windows won't open at all (triggers, aliases, buttons, timers, scripts, etc.).

When I click on any of the script buttons, the button presses down, but nothing appears. The editor window never activates and is not behind my main window anywhere. When I turn on the menubar from the settings menu, and try to open the script editor from there, it still doesn't work.

The other buttons work fine (manual, IRC chat, settings, etc.).

I've tried:
1.1.1
2.0-rc5-1
2.0-rc5-mcp-enabled
2.0-rc6-pre1.exe

I selected the uninstall icon and uninstalled and did a fresh install (as opposed to just installing over the old files).

Tried running as both administrator and not.

I caught Vadi in the IRC channel for a brief second and asked me to try alt+e, but it didn't appear to do anything for me.

Deactivated my Windows firewall, and it still didn't work.

Help me Obi-Wan... :cry:

aloc_acoc
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by aloc_acoc » Thu Jun 02, 2011 6:23 am

Tried more uninstalls tonight, and even searched my computer and deleted everything even mentioning "mudlet" found on my computer... all to no avail :(

Any thoughts?

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by Heiko » Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:01 am

1. What screen size do you use?
2. The script editor is opened as a second main window. On Windows 7 you get a doubled up Mudlet icon in the task bar when the SC is open and you can manually focus the 2 windows from the task bar.
3. Mudlet uses the windows registry to save window size information. Do you use some registry access blocker tool?

aloc_acoc
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by aloc_acoc » Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:03 pm

Hey Heiko,

My Screen res is 1900x1200.

Yeah I did check the tray, and would've been terribly embarrassed had this just been minimized behind the main window, but it definitely isn't.... it just seems to not appear or open up at all upon pressing any of the script buttons, the shortcut from the menu bar, or the hot key alt+e :(

And I've never installed any registry blocker tool. Admittedly, this does sound like something wrong with something deep in my computer settings though.

Cetea
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:55 am

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by Cetea » Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:58 am

I had this problem as well, and after a reinstall (which didn't work) I looked around for alternative solutions. The fix to this was to alt tab to the window (it is opened, just minimized), alt space, then select maximize. You should be able to see the scripting window after that.

User avatar
SlySven
Posts: 927
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:40 pm
Location: Deepest Wiltshire, UK
Discord: SlySven#2703

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by SlySven » Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:07 pm

Um, you do realise that the OP hasn't been around here since 2011? :shock:

As it happens Mudlet still saves the editor position - though it now uses an INI file format for all OSes if I remember it correctly - fair enough it does use the same settings for every profile which does not work so good if you are multi-playing (have more than one profile running at a time)... :roll:

User avatar
demonnic
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by demonnic » Fri Nov 29, 2019 2:14 am

I've seen this behaviour before, primarily when you go from a multi-monitor setup with the script editor on the secondary monitor to a single monitor setup

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4728
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet's script windows won't open

Post by Vadi » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:04 am

@SlySven I asked them to post the solution in case someone else ran into the problem :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests