Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post Reply
Tahlnaith
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:19 am

Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Tahlnaith »

This seems to be an issue with Mudlet instead of with Aetolia since people with other clients like cMUD don't seem to be having this issue. The GMCP skills table doesn't seem to be populated at all right now. This broke several things in my system. Doing lua display(gmcp.Char) shows this as the skills table.
'Skills': table {}
Doing score, stat, AB, or anything else doesn't change it. If I do AB VISION, it will populate the table with Vision skills and Vision skills only. Then if I do AB SURVIVAL it will replace everything in the table with Survival skills.

This all started about three or so days ago for several people, all of whom use the same Mudlet system (Earthshaker). I didn't make any changes to Mudlet or the system before it happened. Other things in GMCP may be messed up as well because Earthshaker's sipper doesn't work. The odd part with that though was it was fine while I was bashing, but then stopped working along with several other things after I PVPed.

Any word on what could be causing this and how to fix it?

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Heiko »

Talk to your MUD admin to remove the tab characters within the char.skills.groups message. Those are a violation of the specs and cause our JSON decoding library to fail.
Aetolia sends this message (note that instead of a space between skill and skill level the server sends skill tab skill level):
"message: 'Char.Skills.Groups', body: '[ "Vision Inept", "Avoidance Inept", "Tattoos Inept", "Survival Novice", "Weaponry Inept", "Reanimation Inept", "Corpus Inept", "Mentis Inept", "Constitution Inept", "Thermology Inept", "Frost Inept", "Antidotes Inept", "Fitness Inept", "Galvanism Inept", "Philosophy Inept", "Horsemanship Inept" ]'

Deekyfreak
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:26 am

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Deekyfreak »

Thank you Heiko. I issued it on Aetolia and one of the Admin said they are aware of the problem and are looking into fixing it.

Riluo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:30 am

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Riluo »

Anyone heard back about this issues as it has been a while now.

And thanks

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Heiko »

Aetolia has fixed this bug and it works properly now according to my test script.

Riluo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:30 am

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Riluo »

Hmm. The issue is still there for some reason. I tested two systems and both have issues with it still. I even asked someone with their own seperate system to test their end and it has the same issue.

Would you say it is worth bugging the admin about it more or not!

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Heiko »

I get this skill table:
'Skills': table {
'Groups': table {
1: 'Vision'
2: 'Avoidance'
3: 'Tattoos'
4: 'Survival'
5: 'Weaponry'
6: 'Reanimation'
7: 'Corpus'
8: 'Mentis'
9: 'Constitution'
10: 'Thermology'
11: 'Frost'
12: 'Antidotes'
13: 'Fitness'
14: 'Galvanism'
15: 'Philosophy'
16: 'Horsemanship'
}
}

This is a correct translation of the gmcp message from the MUD.
However, what is missing is the skill level. This is why your systems probably don't work, because it was in there before.
Talk to your admins again to change it back to the original version, but without the tab chars. All they need to do is simply replace all /t with spaces. That's a trivial data fix for the MUD and it used to work fine before.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Heiko »

The producer of Aetolia has fixed the issue. However, Kaeus will have to adapt his Earthshaker system somewhat to make do with the new and improved skill table.
Aetolia now sends this:
'Skills': table {
'Groups': table {
1: '{ "name": "Vision", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
2: '{ "name": "Avoidance", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
3: '{ "name": "Tattoos", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
4: '{ "name": "Survival", "rank": "Novice", "percent": "0" }'
5: '{ "name": "Weaponry", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
6: '{ "name": "Reanimation", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
7: '{ "name": "Corpus", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
8: '{ "name": "Mentis", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
9: '{ "name": "Constitution", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
10: '{ "name": "Thermology", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
11: '{ "name": "Frost", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
12: '{ "name": "Antidotes", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
13: '{ "name": "Fitness", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
14: '{ "name": "Galvanism", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
15: '{ "name": "Philosophy", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
16: '{ "name": "Horsemanship", "rank": "Inept", "percent": "0" }'
}
}

User avatar
tsuujin
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:59 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by tsuujin »

Wish the Achaea skills table was so nice.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Aet GMCP Skills table not populated?

Post by Vadi »

Would be better if they made them named keys instead of just objects, but that's quite nice already.

Post Reply