I broke mudlet?

Post Reply
Mosr
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:24 pm

I broke mudlet?

Post by Mosr »

So, all of the sudden my scripts stopped working. I open up the debug menu and I get this error:
LUA: ERROR running script displays (Trigger115) ERROR:mudlet-lua/lua/GUIUtils.lua:813: attempt to call field 'Process' (a nil value)
The startup stuff seems right:
loading package:StringUtils.lua ... OK
loading package:TableUtils.lua ... OK
loading package:Logging.lua ... OK
loading package:DebugTools.lua ... OK
loading package:DB.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/Geyser.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserGeyser.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserUtil.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserColor.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserSetConstraints.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserContainer.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserWindow.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserLabel.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserGauge.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserMiniConsole.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserReposition.lua ... OK
loading package:geyser/GeyserTests.lua ... OK
loading package:GUIUtils.lua ... OK
loading package:Other.lua ... OK
LUA API loading DONE

'Loading Crit Table'
[INFO] found Lua module rex_pcre
[INFO] found Lua module luasql.sqlite3
[INFO] LuaGlobal.lua loaded successfully.
I'm not sure if I broke something somehow or if anyone else has had this issue.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: I broke mudlet?

Post by Heiko »

I don't have access to the source code right now so I can't be more specific, but you are obviously overwriting some important variable or table that is used by Mudlet's core lib or Lua itself e.g. if you write a script like: string = "foo" you'd delete the entire Lua string handling that is contained in a table called string. This is one of the typical pitfalls.

Mosr
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:24 pm

Re: I broke mudlet?

Post by Mosr »

Okay, when I get home I'll go through and check everything to see.

Denarii
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:54 pm

Re: I broke mudlet?

Post by Denarii »

Process is a helper function for cecho. It's contained in a table called Echos. Did you create your own Echos table?

Mosr
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:24 pm

Re: I broke mudlet?

Post by Mosr »

I don't know. It is definitely something I made though. I went through and was checking and decided to test another profile in which cecho works perfectly.

Apparently it had something to do with my attempts at saving a table. I must've overwritten something.
Thanks for the quick replies.

Post Reply