Nesting temptriggers

ahuman

Nesting temptriggers

Post by ahuman »

Hello. I'm new to Lua and new to Mudlet, so this might be a stupid question. I'm trying to write a commodity price tracker for a space combat MUD I play. In order to read the prices, I have to navigate through two menus, both of which have the same prompt.

The problem is that this version works perfectly:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
function prompt1(planet, room)
	if room ~= "Trading Center" then
		fg( "red" )
		echo( "Not in a trading center" )
		resetFormat()
		return
	end
	send("buy")
	ship_prompt_tr = tempTrigger(
		"[Type a line of input or `@abort' to abort the command.]",
		[[
			send("1")
			killTrigger(ship_prompt_tr)
		]])
end
While the trigger in this version never fires:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
function prompt1(planet, room)
	if room ~= "Trading Center" then
		fg( "red" )
		echo( "Not in a trading center" )
		resetFormat()
		return
	end
	send("buy")
		"[Type a line of input or `@abort' to abort the command.]",
		[[
			send("1")
			prompt2(]]..planet..[[)
		]])
end
It also returns the error "Lua syntax error:[Type a line of input or `@abort' to abort the command.]" in the console. Please help?
Attachments
commodity.xml
(1.96 KiB) Downloaded 357 times

Lucky24

Re: Nesting temptriggers

Post by Lucky24 »

My guess would be the multiple [[ ]] brackets and the carriage returns make the complier confused. When using tempTrigger() and tempTimer(), and I need to use more than one set of [[ ]], I either put all the lua in one line (with semicolons separating the statements), which works fine, or create a new function which I call inside the [[]], so that I can better debug the code, if it's longer than a few statements.

Heiko
Site Admin

Post by Heiko »

"[Type a line of input or \`@abort\' to abort the command.]",
[[
send("1")
prompt2(]]..planet..[[)
]])

or use [[ ]] instead of " " for the pattern.
Also note that nesting [[ isn't supported by Lua.