Substitutions!

Gippal

Substitutions!

Post by Gippal »

Hey!
I'm new to Mudlet/Lua as a whole, so this could be a multitude of problems, ranging from PCRE, to Lua, to Mudlet in general.

Here is what I'm trying to do!
Change:
Your guardian angel senses Keahi at The Arcanists' Teleportation Chamber, on a health of 4854 and a mana of 3857.

To:
Keahi is at The Arcanists' Teleportation Chamber. Health: 4854. Mana: 3857.

Here's what I tried.
Name: Presences Trigger
Pattern: ^Your guardian angel senses \w at .*\, on a health of \d and a mana of \d\.$
(Perl Regex option in the drop-down menu)
Script:
resetFormat()
selectString("^Your guardian angel senses \w at .*\, on a health of \d and a mana of \d\.$", 1)
replace(matches[2].." is at "..matches[3]..". Health: "..matches[4]..". Mana: "..matches[5]..".")

How did I fail? :D

Iocun

Re: Substitutions!

Post by Iocun »

Ok, first of all \w only matches a -single- letter/digit and \d only matches a -single- digit. For matching one or more of them, you'd use \w+ and \d+. Second, you don't need the \ before the comma. Third, in order to capture your wildcards and use them in the script, you need to put brackets around them. Therefore your pattern should be:

^Your guardian angel senses (\w+) at (.+), on a health of (\d+) and a mana of (\d+)\.$

Then you'll also need to change your selectString() to:
selectString(line, 1)

selectString doesn't work with regular expressions. You have to use literal strings. Line is simply the whole line your trigger matched on. (Alternatively, you could also use matches[1] in this example.)

Last, make sure your screenwidth is set to 0, or the trigger won't match if the message goes over two lines.

Gippal

Post by Gippal »

Thanks! That helps clear a lot up. :D
Another question, I was wondering if it was possible to set up different coloring. Such as in Cmud I would do
%1 is at %ansi(high,blue)%2. %ansi(high,green)Health: %3. %ansi(high,blue)Mana: Health: %4.