Trigger help needed!

finality

Trigger help needed!

Post by finality »

I am very new to mudlet, and so far, it's been intimidating. frankly, it isn't very user friendly, and a little hard to figure out how to get it to work. and by "it" I mean the triggers, aliases, and such. not to mention the llua script is...complicated.

I have been trying for quite a while now to set up targetted defensive triggers, with absolutely zero success.
I am an absolute newbie at programming/scripting, and know nothing about any language, except a few codes someone told me.

what I'm trying to do is make a trigger that sees an attack, such as.

9191h, 11659e, 0g xb A:50% -
Iggy weaves his hands slowly in the air, whispering as a crackling ball of
lightning forms in his hand.
7682h, 10653e, 0g xb A:40% - Iggy: Glowing -

and captures the name of the person attacking, then inputs it into the trigger.

for instance, it would see the trigger line, which would be
"Iggy weaves his hands slowly in the air"
except "Iggy" would be some code that captures the name.

then it would send this

"Duck "the code that represents Iggy's name""

as another example, in Cmud, the scripting code is, %1, all the way to %99.

so in Cmud, the very same trigger would be.
#trigger {%1 weaves his hands slowly in the air}
then it would fire this. {duck %1}

I think it's called a wildcard or something.

I have read this topic, http://forums.mudlet.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1230, and tried out what the users said, but it didn't work. I also watched Vadi5's videos on youtube, and tried what he said, (for making alias wildcards, the (.*) ) but that didn't work either.

please! I really need some help on this!

Vadi

Re: Trigger help needed!

Post by Vadi »

perl regex pattern: (\w+) weaves his hands slowly in the air
script: send("duck " .. matches[2])

like so: Image

I'd highly recommend watching the triggers screencast as well. Let me know how the trigger goes!

Jules

Post by Jules »