Database error - gsub

naftali

Database error - gsub

Post by naftali »

Hey. I'm trying to create a database for the purpose of remembering room names/numbers and some other things. This is my first attempt at using databases, and right off the bat I seem to be getting an odd error:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
local roomdb = db:create("AetoliaRooms",
	{
		rooms = {
			num = "",
			title = "",
			environment = "",
			exits = { { "", "" } },
			marks = { "" },
			_index = { "title" },
			_unique = { "num" }
		}
	}
)
trying to run that gives the following error:
Lua syntax error:/Users/Josh/.config/mudlet/db.lua:189: attempt to call method 'gsub' (a nil value)
I checked, and on line 189 of db.lua it does indeed call gsub. Should this be string.gsub? Is there an error in my code?

Using 1.0.6pre3. Feel free to close topic/mark as solved if this problem is fixed in the final version of 1.0.6

ixokai

Re: Database error - gsub

Post by ixokai »

My first question is:

Code: Select all

exits = { { "", "" } },
                        marks = { "" },
What are you trying to do here?

You can't use tables as the default / data-type of a sheet column. It only supports basic types-- strings and numbers basically, though timestamps are sort of Special Numbers that it wraps.

I believe that's the problem here.

naftali

Post by naftali »

Drat. See, each room has exits, each of which lead to another room. I was hoping for the exits entry to contain a list of lists, where each sub-list has in it the direction of the exit (north, south, etc) and the number of the room it goes to. Would I just have to create entries for each direction, so that

north = 12345,
east = false,
south = 45678,
west = false
would be what that part of the sheet looks like for a room with exits to the north and south?