LuaCOM (module)

Post Reply
phastari
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 9:06 pm

LuaCOM (module)

Post by phastari »

I'm trying to communicate between mudlet and another application by using luacom (The LuaCOM Library)

But I can't seem to get mudlet to include/load the LuaCOM library, so any help would be appreciated.
I'm running Mudlet on a windows 7 system.

Please explain step by step how to include the library in mudlet. (I'm not a coder :( )

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: LuaCOM (module)

Post by Heiko »

It's quite simple in theory: Lua needs to find the library when you ask to load it with require xy. Put the library into the Mudlet installation directory directly and then load it in your Lua script with require.

phastari
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 9:06 pm

Re: LuaCOM (module)

Post by phastari »

like:

C:\Mudlet\Luacom

then in script something like:

Code: Select all

function luacom()
       require("luacom")
end
?

Thanks for the respons!

phastari
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 9:06 pm

Re: LuaCOM (module)

Post by phastari »

Figured out that I have to "make" LuaCOM before I can use it, I have no idea how to do that on windows... anyone able to offer some help?

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: LuaCOM (module)

Post by Vadi »

From a quick overview, it seems to require to be compiled into the application you'd like to be using it... it's not exactly trivial to do and requires knowing how to compile c++ programs (and modify them a bit).

phastari
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 9:06 pm

Re: LuaCOM (module)

Post by phastari »

Ok. Thanks for letting me know, guess I have to try to figure out some otherway to do it.

Post Reply