Can we take another shot at TTS support for Mudlet 3 [Yeah we can!]

Athelia

Can we take another shot at TTS support for Mudlet 3 [Yeah we can!]

Post by Athelia »

Hi everyone,

My name is Athelia and I an a disabled gamer. While not officially visually impaired I have cerebral palsy which causes gross and fine motor issues. In addition to not being able to walk, the nerves in my brain send mixed up signals to my the nerves in my eyes causing me to lose my place frequently. Bumping up the font size helps but messes with the layout of many MUDs internal map commands. I am using a Mac not only because I am a filmmaker but also because there is full-featured TTS in the operating system. However Mac TTS does not work in Mudlet. I was wondering if someone would be willing to undertake a TTS feature similar to the one in Savitar...maybe not annoying continuous speech like Savitar but something useable. I do not have a third party screenreader as I do not always need one but if we as a community could undertake a Mudlet TTS feature again. I (and a whole bunch other visually impaired gamers) would be very grateful. I'm sorry I have zero programming skills to help but I can cheer you guys on!

Thanks,

Athelia

Edited: 2017/07/25 to update title to reflect preliminary work "Initial QTextToSpeech additions" being done in Pull-Request #1188.

Vadi

Re: Can we take another shot at TTS support for Mudlet 3

Post by Vadi »

Thanks for the prompting! How does TTS on a Mac work? How can I enable it and do what you would do?

Also, how does latest iota respond to TTS?

Vadi

Post by Vadi »

Jotting down notes - http://blog.qt.io/blog/2014/05/14/acces ... in-qt-5-3/ Qt 5.3 is better with it.

Vadi

Post by Vadi »

I've had a look, improved some things in the connection editor allowing you to tab around the place. Making triggers is a pain though, those 50 lines of patterns really get in the way.