Implementing MUME's MPI Protocol in Mudlet

Jahara

Implementing MUME's MPI Protocol in Mudlet

Post by Jahara »

Hello Mudlet dev team,

I'm a dev and player of the MUD called MUME and I want to add support for it to Mudlet.

Unfortuantely, MUME has a custom protocol to send data in-band which is vastly different from how the Mudlet architecture currently works with GMCP and other out-of-band protocols. The custom protocol is called MPI which unfortunately isn't negotiated using Telnet handshakes due to historical design reasons. Instead, the client negotiates settings using a special character prefix "~$#E". Through this handshake MUME can then submit extra information as XML. This has been very useful given the development of our own mappers which work as a pass-through and remove the XML tags so that clients don't need to understand them. Mudlet could be the first client/mapper to understand both.

How do you guys feel about such an addition? I know the protocol and XML-parsing engine do not fit into the Mudlet architecture very gracefully but I'm open to try and make changes to standardize things. :mrgreen:

I would really prefer to not have to fork Mudlet :(

Thanks,
Jahara
MUME is a free multiplayer roleplaying game based upon J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle Earth that has been continuously enhanced since fall '91.

Vadi

Re: Implementing MUME's MPI Protocol in Mudlet

Post by Vadi »

Hiya

Is this something you can implement with triggers? Gagging in Mudlet client-side is really efficient.

From there on you could create a package, and offer to install it to new players via http://wiki.mudlet.org/w/Manual:GMCP_Extensions. This will work even on the current Mudlet 2.1, anyone who connects to your game will get that stuff.

Jahara

Post by Jahara »

Hi Vadi,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly! Responses below:
Vadi wrote:Is this something you can implement with triggers? Gagging in Mudlet client-side is really efficient.