Page 1 of 2

Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:49 am
by Darmir
One feature I would like to see is having the line numbers able to show up in the editor window. This would help you quickly find the line when you see an error in your script which gives you the line number.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:58 am
by Heiko
Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:07 pm
by tsuujin
They are, but that's not nearly so handy as having them displayed along the left of the window. Many coders (myself included) are simply used to seeing them there.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:24 pm
by Darmir
Heiko wrote:Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.
The point is to quickly go to the line number when you see the error in the status window. If I had a script with let's say 500 lines of code and the status window says go to line 300 it would take me a long time to find exactly where I am having issues.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:14 am
by tsuujin
Darmir wrote:
Heiko wrote:Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.
The point is to quickly go to the line number when you see the error in the status window. If I had a script with let's say 500 lines of code and the status window says go to line 300 it would take me a long time to find exactly where I am having issues.
I always miss VIM when I have to do any coding outside of it. One of the many features I love: keyboard shortcut to go straight to a line number.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:24 pm
by Darmir
tsuujin wrote:
Darmir wrote:
Heiko wrote:Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.
The point is to quickly go to the line number when you see the error in the status window. If I had a script with let's say 500 lines of code and the status window says go to line 300 it would take me a long time to find exactly where I am having issues.
I always miss VIM when I have to do any coding outside of it. One of the many features I love: keyboard shortcut to go straight to a line number.
Me too. I learned how to write perl and korn shell in VIM.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:41 am
by Oneymus
Darmir wrote:
Heiko wrote:Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.
The point is to quickly go to the line number when you see the error in the status window. If I had a script with let's say 500 lines of code and the status window says go to line 300 it would take me a long time to find exactly where I am having issues.
A word of advice, coming from experience: If your script contains files (even a single one) with 500 lines in it, you may want to consider writing it outside of Mudlet and using require() to load the script. I would think just about any IDE is a better development environment than direct Mudlet when working on something of that scope.

Personally, I use the Scite that came with Lua For Windows.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:40 am
by Darmir
Okay I never would have a script with 500 lines either but that is just an example.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:31 am
by Rakon
Oneymus wrote:
Darmir wrote:
Heiko wrote:Line numbers are shown in the status bar of the editor.
The point is to quickly go to the line number when you see the error in the status window. If I had a script with let's say 500 lines of code and the status window says go to line 300 it would take me a long time to find exactly where I am having issues.
A word of advice, coming from experience: If your script contains files (even a single one) with 500 lines in it, you may want to consider writing it outside of Mudlet and using require() to load the script. I would think just about any IDE is a better development environment than direct Mudlet when working on something of that scope.

Personally, I use the Scite that came with Lua For Windows.
The issue I have with require() or dofile() is:

require() :
If I unload or nil out the package, the functions it loaded are NOT unloaded. Thus I have to go through and manually nil out each function and then reload/require the package again to get the UPDATED functions there.

dofile() :
Running mudlet for a while and loading/reloading the main script alot, eventually you'll run into an error that 'too many file handles are open' or some such. This requires you to completely logoff/close mudlet and then reopen in order to get around it or reload the script.

Re: Feature Request - show line number

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:54 pm
by Iocun
I see no issues with large scripts in Mudlet itself. Mudlet may not offer all the functionalities of a dedicated script editor, but it works well enough for my purposes, and I find it more comfortable to have everything in one place than having to toggle to other programs/files to edit some of my scripts. The core script of my curing system has well over 500 lines.