Line width bug [tabs]

Post Reply
ahuman
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:03 pm

Line width bug [tabs]

Post by ahuman » Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:24 am

Using Mudlet 2.0-rc1, there's a persistent bug with how it displays tab characters (like from the %t substitution on a MUSH). It treats them like one character, but they display ten wide. This makes tabbed lines wrap ten places later than untabbed lines.

A related request would be a configurable tab width, or at least a more reasonable width like 4 characters.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Line width bug

Post by Heiko » Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:22 am

Mudlet cannot handle tab chars. The user is responsible to replace them with the number of spaces he wants. -> regex trigger

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4674
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Line width bug

Post by Vadi » Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:51 pm

Some MKO scripts come with a trigger - you just do a regex match on \t, select it and replace with whatever you'd like. tabs shouldn't be used by MUDs however.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4674
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Line width bug

Post by Vadi » Thu Aug 16, 2012 8:49 pm

Here's a trigger to do this, by the way.
Attachments
tab-remover.xml
(1.18 KiB) Downloaded 305 times

Garagoth
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:24 am

Re: Line width bug [tabs]

Post by Garagoth » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:16 pm

Sorry for bringing back old topic but unless I'm doing something wrong this only replaces tabs in output window and rest of triggers still operate on a line that contains tabs

Is there any way for a trigger to modify a line so next triggers will match against that changed line and not original one that came from MUD?

Regards,
Garagoth.

ktiedt
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:08 am

Re: Line width bug

Post by ktiedt » Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:21 pm

Vadi wrote:Here's a trigger to do this, by the way.
Except this completely breaks any layout that was relying on tabs... So there is no way to properly handle tabs? I mean... they arent a new concept or anything :/

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4674
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Line width bug [tabs]

Post by Vadi » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:41 am

They arent a new concept, but they are one without an actual standard defining what do they do.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Line width bug [tabs]

Post by Heiko » Sun Nov 10, 2013 7:33 pm

Tab support has been added to Mudlet for some time now. Wait for the next release or use the dev branch.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests