Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post Reply
User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Vadi »

I tried this a while back and couldn't get any combination of voodoo to work - being being able to delete echo'd text is quite necessary. For example, I'm starting to make use of click-based menus that are rendered with the magic of echoLink - and re-rendering them by re-displaying them and thus filling up players buffer with past renders isn't a nice thing to do. Being able to wipe the old menu and re-render the new one in the same spot would be much better.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Heiko »

I need a screenshot to understand what you mean.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Vadi »

Here is a video demonstrating the issue. Ideally, the menu would be changed in-place - but because it can't be, right now it spams the buffer with each render.
Attachments
problem.ogv
(3.08 MiB) Downloaded 417 times

User avatar
tsuujin
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:59 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by tsuujin »

The only way I've really been able to do anything like this of value has been with miniconsoles, which aren't ideal sometimes.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Vadi »

Oh... thanks for the idea. I was being stupid by not even thinking that way.

User avatar
tsuujin
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:59 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by tsuujin »

Vadi wrote:Oh... thanks for the idea. I was being stupid by not even thinking that way.
Hehe, sarcasm or actual thanks?

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Vadi »

Oh that was not sarcasm... Heh, please don't take it that way. I think I can come up with something nice there, ill post the results.

User avatar
tsuujin
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:59 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by tsuujin »

Oh, check it out, you can delete cechos.
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
cecho("\n<white>First line")
cecho("\n<red>Second line")
cecho("\n<blue>Third line")
cecho("\n<green>Fourth line")

moveCursor("main",0,getLineCount()-1)
deleteLine()
moveCursorEnd()

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Feature Request: deletion of echos

Post by Vadi »

Seems to work, thank you! Will see about implementing into my menus sometime, see how that works... I think properly defining the compacting order of lines from deleteLine() in the manual would be something to do as well.

Post Reply