cMud Map Importer

Share your scripts and packages with other Mudlet users.
argosen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by argosen » Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:28 am

2.0 test 4

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by mordisko » Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:47 pm

Hello there!

I just discovered Mudlet today and I'm amazed as its the best cliet I found so far.

I downloaded Mudlet 2.0 (June 12, 2011) and I'm trying to import a map I have in cmud format (I used the mdb->dbm conversion tool found in Zuggsoft's downlad) but it just doesn't work. No errors, no messages displayed at all.

First I use the alias "cmud importmap", a dialog shows asking me to select the map file and here it ends. No feedback at all, nothing happens.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
chris
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:39 am

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by chris » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:28 pm

That probably means everything is fine. You can check the errors log to see if there are any. You need to use centerview to assign your room position after

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by mordisko » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:36 pm

Thanks for the quick answer!

I used centerview(1), I don't know the ID of any room so I tried that, nothing seemed to happen.

Where's the error log located? sorry, I'm very new with this.

The map has 18.000+ rooms, how much time should it take to impor it?

User avatar
chris
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:39 am

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by chris » Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:26 pm

The error log is located in scripts->errors, or you can bring up the debug screen from there as well. To see the rooms imported, you can do something like this:
getAreaTable()
pick a zone from there and:
getAreaRooms(#)

Alternatively you can use getRooms() to see every room, or you can use the area pulldown tab on the mapper. Be wary though, you need to setup scripts for your map, there are a few instances here showing how to (I have one for 3kingdoms for example).

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by mordisko » Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:15 pm

Thanks!

Finally the map appears; i guess i was on the wrong area :oops:. I'll try to work out some script for it and see if I can zoom it out, because when I try it freezes and doesn't show a thing.

Thanks again!

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4667
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by Vadi » Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:41 pm

Do you have a lot.of labels on thrmap, by chance?

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by mordisko » Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:19 pm

Yep, there's a lot of them.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4667
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by Vadi » Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:28 am

That'll be the issue. They're very slow atm.

User avatar
chris
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:39 am

Re: cMud Map Importer

Post by chris » Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:18 am

What version are you on? I fixed the latest one to only render labels you can see and have been looking around for other ways to optimize them. On another note, I managed to convert the cmud colors->mudlet, but i needed an external library to do the bit math. Does anyone know of a bit library built within lua or of a way to do it natively in lua?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests