Page 1 of 4

Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:07 am
by Thylacine
Here's the tabbed chat script I've been using to split channels based on subject. I've revamped and packaged this now, so it should be reasonably easy to configure... Just import the 'tabbedChat.xml' file.

Technically, I guess the showWindow/hideWindow isn't needed if they're moved off-screen, but anyway

If you want mudlet to remember which tab was last open when starting a new session, you can optionally load the 'saveGlobals' file that includes a timer that activates every 5 minutes. Then all you need to do is table.load("/home/Brodie/.config/Mudlet/globals", globals) somewhere in-script, although Windozers will need to change the path for both.

Basically then, you call chatStartup() in a script, which then creates a window on the righthand side of the screen (dimensions not perfect) with a row of tabs on the top. Clicking these tabs highlights them and makes that particular 'channel' visible. You can customise the position/size in the chat script

Keep in mind that you'll need separate triggers for each channel now, the script section for each should look something like:

Code: Select all

selectString(line,1)
copy()
--To the "All" tab first:
appendBuffer("chatall")

--Say this was the (Market): trigger,
appendBuffer("chatmarket")

--Optional:
--deleteLine()
Available tab names: chatall, chatguild, chatcity, chatmarket, chatweb

Maybe it's not all that useful, it was mostly just an experiment :P

Edit: As per Heiko's request, screenshot!
(It's the box on the right)

Also, packaged and rewritten a little. Font text for labels is also white.

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:43 pm
by Vadi
What a crazy and wonderful idea. It's like the 2nd gen chat windows.

One prob though. Word wrapping?

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:00 pm
by Heiko
Yes, that's a nice idea and your screen looks really good also. What distro are you using?

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:44 pm
by Vadi
The big A top-left suggests Arch Linux.

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:48 am
by Thylacine
Yeah, it's Arch 64 with KDE4. Not the modular version and I'm having sound troubles (laptop suspend etc), but otherwise it's great.

Also, thanks to whoever attached the screenshot. It wouldn't let me do it for some reason...

Crap, wordwrap. I thought that was in there :P. Give me a minute, then.

Edit: Uploaded, number of characters to wrap is dependent on the width of your tabs. Well, hopefully anyway.

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:50 am
by Yoru
Before i ask, this package has been so helpful for me to keep up with overflowing chats in 50 gabillion channels. Thanks so much!

However I've been having problems whereby when it copies the chatlines over it cuts off after 2 lines. As in 2 lines is the max it will copy. How do i fix this? It's not a terrible annoyance but i think if nobody else noticed this then it must be a problem in my settings?

Thanks!

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:57 am
by Heiko
This package expects you to use "config screenwith 0" and also to set proper wrap width for the tabs according to how many chars your tabs can display per line.

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:33 am
by demonnic
tabbed chat. currently set to go all the way across the top. same tab names and window names as OP. modified to be compatible with the windowresize() function/event. See post http://forums.mudlet.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1208 for instructions on that.

Demonnic-tabbed-chatv1.xml
(9.09 KiB) Downloaded 1043 times

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:19 am
by isaiah
I use mudlet w/ screenwidth 80, how would I get this to handle more then 1 line tells?

Re: Tabbed Chat [w/ screenshot+package]

Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:35 am
by tsuujin
isaiah wrote:I use mudlet w/ screenwidth 80, how would I get this to handle more then 1 line tells?
Honestly, nobody scripts for anything other than a screenwidth of 0, because it's just too needlessly complex.