Mudlet features and API requests

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Vadi »

Is it coming up in matches[1] perhaps? I don't remember.

I've just used regexes for matching unprintable characters though, didn't know substrings could do them as well.

User avatar
Belgarath
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:19 am
Discord: macjabeth#7149

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Belgarath »

A function to SAVE PROFILE so data cannot be lost unexpectedly via computer crashes or other means. Useful functionality for it would be to have a timer that executes that function every five to ten minutes.

phasma
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:00 pm
Discord: phasma#4694

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by phasma »

Bit silly having a workaround. I think it'd be more prudent to actually fix the underlying issue.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Vadi »

Fix the underlying issue of potentially, say, a sudden power outage? Or a kid unplugging your computer? I think it's reasonable to plan for the unexpected.

User avatar
SlySven
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:40 pm
Location: Deepest Wiltshire, UK
Discord: SlySven#2703

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by SlySven »

Vadi wrote:Fix the underlying issue of potentially, say, a sudden power outage? Or a kid unplugging your computer? I think it's reasonable to plan for the unexpected.
Or a wetware failure in the bit of the system between the keyboard and the display...! :lol:

User avatar
demonnic
Posts: 886
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by demonnic »

Vadi wrote:Is it coming up in matches[1] perhaps? I don't remember.

I've just used regexes for matching unprintable characters though, didn't know substrings could do them as well.
matches[1] seems to be getting set to an empty string, so it's not working for a selectString(). Which makes me worry that if I can match it in a regex it will display similar behaviour. Especially as a normal substring match does populate matches[1] with what was matched. And if I try to paste the unprintable character into a regex trigger the regex refuses to compile.

I suppose I'll just step through the hex codes until I find one that matches when I get more time, but it would be nice if there were an easier way to deal with this, even if it was just an option in preferences to not print anything for unprintable characters.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 5042
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Vadi »

Does this script which matches on a tab, \t, help?

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Heiko »

The current git version automaticallly strips all ASCII 0 chars and handles tab caracters.

Curudan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by Curudan »

Could we have a function to open the mapper in a separate window? As far as I know the only way to open the mapper by function currently is to open it in a miniconsole. I intend to fullscreen the mapper on a separate monitor, and launching manually every time is growing tiresome.

Additionally, because the mapper isn't open when the lua scripts initialize on startup, all of the "addMapEvent"s I've set up will not initially register with the mapper; I have to manually launch them, either with an alias or by selecting and deselecting the script. Some kind of sysMapperLoadEvent event would be nice for those, so I could have them run once the mapper starts.

I've had a lot of fun scripting and playing with Mudlet so far. Thanks for reading my suggestion.

phasma
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:00 pm
Discord: phasma#4694

Re: Mudlet features and API requests

Post by phasma »

Yeah, that first request would be great but I suspect there'll be some performance issues associated with doing this, hence why it uses a miniconsole at present.

As for the init issues, that's totally avoidable via your own scripting.

Post Reply