Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post Reply
Garagoth
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:24 am

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Garagoth »

Hi!

Very nice to hear that Mudlet is alive and developing. Best client I found that meets my needs.
What about screenreaders and blind users? Is 3.0 branch supporting that or development of screenreader features has been stopped?

Regards,
Garagoth.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Vadi »

Screenreader edition was a separate branch of Mudlet and Heiko never released the code for it. We'll get around to it eventually, but it didn't make it into 3.0.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Vadi »

Belgarath wrote:Same here! Cheers for the quick fix :)

As I go through, I'll edit this post with any errors I run into.
I seem to have a bunch of missing startup modules though (didn't have this prob in 2.1).
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
[ ERROR ] - Cannot find Lua module rex_pcre.
            Some functions may not be available.
            Lua error:[string "require "rex_pcre""]:1: module 'rex_pcre' not found:
                    no field package.preload['rex_pcre']
                    no file './rex_pcre.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/rex_pcre.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/rex_pcre/init.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/rex_pcre.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/rex_pcre/init.lua'
                    no file './rex_pcre.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/rex_pcre.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
[  OK  ]  - Lua module zip loaded.
[ ERROR ] - Cannot find Lua module lfs (Lua File System).
            Probably will not be able to access Mudlet Lua code.
            Lua error:[string "require "lfs""]:1: module 'lfs' not found:
                    no field package.preload['lfs']
                    no file './lfs.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/lfs.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/lfs/init.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/lfs.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/lfs/init.lua'
                    no file './lfs.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/lfs.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
[ ERROR ] - Cannot find Lua module luasql.sqlite3.
            Database support will not be available.
            Lua error:[string "luasql = require "luasql.sqlite3""]:1: module 'luasql.sqlite3' not 
found:
                    no field package.preload['luasql.sqlite3']
                    no file './luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3/init.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3/init.lua'
                    no file './luasql/sqlite3.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
                    no file './luasql.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
[ ERROR ] - LuaGlobal.lua compile error - please report!
            Error from Lua: cannot open mudlet-lua/lua/LuaGlobal.lua: No such file or directory
Fixed, please download Mudlet_3.0.0-alphac.dmg. Thanks for your patience and apologies it went out non-functional - it was working in my environment but that wasn't a clean one.

User avatar
Belgarath
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:19 am
Discord: macjabeth#2283

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Belgarath »

Sweet! It seems to be loading the graphics now :)

Unfortunately it is still having trouble loading certain modules. Here is the stuff I get when it loads:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
[ ERROR ] - Cannot find Lua module rex_pcre.
            Some functions may not be available.
            Lua error:error loading module 'rex_pcre' from file './rex_pcre.so':
                    dlopen(./rex_pcre.so, 2): Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libpcre.1.dylib
              Referenced from: /Applications/Mudlet.app/Contents/MacOS/rex_pcre.so
              Reason: image not found
[  OK  ]  - Lua module zip loaded.
[  OK  ]  - Lua module lfs loaded
[ ERROR ] - Cannot find Lua module luasql.sqlite3.
            Database support will not be available.
            Lua error:[string "luasql = require "luasql.sqlite3""]:1: module 'luasql.sqlite3' not 
found:
                    no field package.preload['luasql.sqlite3']
                    no file './luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3/init.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.lua'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3/init.lua'
                    no file './luasql/sqlite3.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql/sqlite3.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
                    no file './luasql/sqlite3.dylib'
                    no file './luasql.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/luasql.so'
                    no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
                    no file './luasql.dylib'
[  OK  ]  - Mudlet-lua API & Geyser Layout manager loaded.
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Macs, so if there's something I'm perhaps missing my side, please tell me!

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Vadi »

Nope, my error. I was only testing with LFS and that does work now, but not the rest.

User avatar
Belgarath
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:19 am
Discord: macjabeth#2283

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Belgarath »

Ah, okay :P

If you would like me to try any things my side, I'd be happy to test.

(Loving the new Variables addition btw! Should bring many more newbies switching to Mudlet)

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Vadi »

Mudlet_3.0.0-alphac.dmg is up, fixes the two issues in the last one.

User avatar
Zaphob
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 8:07 am
Location: mg.mud.de

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Zaphob »

Yeah, a new windows version available! :) Starting testing ..

User avatar
Belgarath
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:19 am
Discord: macjabeth#2283

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by Belgarath »

Cool, works like a charm now :)

EDIT:

After testing it for a while, I've noticed some things.

- A lot of the GUI (mudlet side, not my side) shows up as black space, and only when I hover over and click certain areas does the UI actually show up.

- When I tried to do a search in the main window for text, it stopped responding and I had to force quit it.

- The maximize/minimize seems to toggle back and forth without me making it do so (when connecting to a profile)

- The GUI my side keeps resizing itself in weird ways at certain points, like when moving around the settings. Clicked on Variables and the GUI resized itself.

fetaera
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Mudlet 3.0.0-alpha

Post by fetaera »

A lot of the GUI (mudlet side, not my side) shows up as black space, and only when I hover over and click certain areas does the UI actually show up. - Known issue. It's been present for a long time.

When I tried to do a search in the main window for text, it stopped responding and I had to force quit it. - Are you able to reproduce this and provide a debug backtrace?

The maximize/minimize seems to toggle back and forth without me making it do so (when connecting to a profile) - Sounds like an issue OS-side rather than a Mudlet one this, but more information is really needed here.

The GUI my side keeps resizing itself in weird ways at certain points, like when moving around the settings. Clicked on Variables and the GUI resized itself. - Again, need more info for this one.

Post Reply