Where to start? I need a simple GMCP-based mapper...

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
CurryMUD

Where to start? I need a simple GMCP-based mapper...

Post by CurryMUD »

Hello! I'm a MUD dev and I'd like a mapper script for my MUD. I'm wondering where to start. I don't think I need anything flashy or unusual.

My MUD is sending GMCP room info like this:

Code: Select all

Room.Info { "num": 10, "room name": "Basement", "room area": "Admin zone", 
"exits": { "n": 11, "ne": 50, "e": 59, "se": 102, "s": 103, "sw": 163, "w": 170, "nw": 176, "u": 6, "manhole": 187 } }
I do have up ("u") and down ("d") exits, as well as ad-hoc exit names like the "manhole" above.

Unfortunately I don't know Lua. Does there exist a generic script for simple mapping based on GMCP? Or should I dive in and try to write my own?

Thanks!

Jor'Mox

Re: Where to start? I need a simple GMCP-based mapper...

Post by Jor'Mox »

Having all of that info would actually make a mapping script fairly easy to develop, but if you were to also provide room coordinates (which I realize are not something that you would just have laying around), it would make a mapper script almost trivial. But, if you don't want to add in coordinates, but want a fully automated mapper, then you either need room layouts that avoid overlap, or you need a rather more complicated script that can dynamically expand a map to keep rooms from being on top of each other.