Change line lengths and room shape

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
Post Reply
mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Change line lengths and room shape

Post by mordisko » Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:48 am

Hello there,

Is there any way to reduce the line length in the mudlet mapper? by default they are pretty long and are causing the map not to be as useful as it should.

I know that there's a "spread" option in the Mapper's GUI, is there anyway to programatically use this option or to specify it as a global setting so that I don't have to manually modify it?

Also, I've seen a few maps in several screenshot which appear to use square rooms instead of the default circle shaped ones. Is there a way to customize this?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
SlySven
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:40 pm
Location: Deepest Wiltshire, UK
Discord: SlySven#2703

Re: Change line lengths and room shape

Post by SlySven » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:21 pm

What do you mean by line length? They go from one room to the next and the rooms are at the integral coordinates but they can be positioned anywhere - so if you have a script that is setting the coordinates you need to look at that NOT in the mapper.

You can adjust the room "size" between 0.2 and 1.1 - at size 1.0 they will completely fill the space between adjacent rooms if they are on immediately adjacent coordinates. e.g. one at (0,0,0) and a neighbour at (1,0,0) - the exit lines are scaled so that the larger the number in the mapper setting the thinner the lines become. I typically use 0.8 and 17 for room and line size and I try to layout rooms on a 3x3x3 grid (e.g. if one room is at (0,0,0) its neighbours in x and y directions are north (0,3,0), east (3,0,0), south (0,-3,0) and west (-3,0,0) - assuming I have my north and south in the right setting (the underlying code for the 2D and 3D mapper widgets have the opposite polarity for the 'Y' direction!)

There is a checkbox underneath the mapper that will turn off round rooms - (currently rooms that have a letter are always drawn as a square - that is a code bug to fix the next time I (or someone else) is working in that area of the code.

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: Change line lengths and room shape

Post by mordisko » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:40 am

Hello there, thanks for the reply.

By line length I mean the length of the link that binds together two rooms. By default it's way too long and makes big maps difficult to read.

I know that I can right-click several rooms and choose the option "shrink" reduce this space, but I don't see any way to do that programmaticaly so that I don't have to shrink every newly created room.

Thanks for the insight on the room size, but I seem unable to find that option. Could you please tell me where I can find it? is there any function that allows me to specify the size programatically?

Thanks again for your reply.

Nyyrazzilyss
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:53 am

Re: Change line lengths and room shape

Post by Nyyrazzilyss » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:39 pm

mordisko wrote: I know that I can right-click several rooms and choose the option "shrink" reduce this space, but I don't see any way to do that programmaticaly so that I don't have to shrink every newly created room.
This was answered in the other thread. Line length is determined by the x/y/z positioning of the room. All the gui shrink command does is change the x/y/z positioning. You choose the positioning yourself when you create the room, so to get shorter lines/tighter spacing, just create them closer together.

mordisko
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: Change line lengths and room shape

Post by mordisko » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:05 pm

Nyyrazzilyss wrote: This was answered in the other thread. Line length is determined by the x/y/z positioning of the room. All the gui shrink command does is change the x/y/z positioning. You choose the positioning yourself when you create the room, so to get shorter lines/tighter spacing, just create them closer together.
Thank you, I didn't get that. I'll look into it.

If I solve the issue with the room size it will all be good :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest