Bottom expand bar on mapper?

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
Post Reply
Nyyrazzilyss
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:53 am

Bottom expand bar on mapper?

Post by Nyyrazzilyss » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:22 pm

The bottom of the mapper window has an expand bar that opens up into the 2d/3d map settings, or reduces back to just the expand bar.

It's a lot of unused space though, on a small y-sized map possibly as much as 10% or more of the available map space. Would it be/ is it possible to replace it with a small up arrow icon in the bottom left/right corner while collapsed to recapture that screen space?

For that matter, when expanded there's lots of space in the new window to have a collapse button without the entire bar taking up space.

User avatar
SlySven
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:40 pm
Location: Deepest Wiltshire, UK
Discord: SlySven#2703

Re: Bottom expand bar on mapper?

Post by SlySven » Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:11 pm

And there are two sets of controls that only work on the 2D or 3D mapper respectively that do not both need to be shown at the same time...

I'm not sure how easy it would be to implement from what I know of that dialogue/form's layout - and the widget that is used for the 3D mapper is a pain to work on - I have had no joy in overlaying even text on THAT so a functional button that sits on top is not going to fly (or rather "hover" ;) ) in anything I might come up with.

Some loss of vertical space for that control is unavoidable at my present understanding of things - but it may be influenced by the size of the "text" for those triangle symbols so if you have an unfortunate font/size combinations I suppose it could be worse than I am seeing.

Is you map widget built into a GUI system or is it the dockable widget (I like THAT one because I can float it and place it on my secondary monitor...!) ? One bug in some code versions for the latter is that the font used is not explicitly set - so when docked it is the Mudlet application one which may not be the same as the Qt System Settings one that gets used when it is a free or floating one. :oops:

The idea of hiding the bar and duplicating it's action with an in-form button is a possible route - though it is less intuitive IMHO - {Within the last week I had, just included in a prototype, code where the arrows do actually swap up-down direction as the panel is hidden/shown to enhance that intuitiveness!}

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest