Shared Mapper

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
chris

Shared Mapper

Post by chris »

I started playing with the idea of shared mapper instances across profiles. I'd like some opinions on the user interface and how to deal with managing a shared map between profiles. The idea is to have a single map for multiple profiles, so instead of having identical/out of sync maps across multiple profiles on the same mud, you have a single map open across several sessions.

How I currently implement it is this:
a new lua command, shareMap('session') which makes both maps on each session identical -- so move a label/etc. and each map responds in sync with the modified map.

What needs to be worked out:
1) Saving -- should there be a new 'choose your map' option, similar to how modules are saved, where there is a consistent location of the last map, and a folder for backups of maps.
2) Linking maps -- should it be a lua command, or a simple interface (since once we get a common saving scheme together this only needs to be done once).
3) Room id markers -- this might be a nice addition, the ability to have multiple 'current room' markers on a map, so you can view in each window where your other character is located (or other markers of your choice).

Thoughts?

Lezard

Re: Shared Mapper

Post by Lezard »

I think it's a brilliant idea. If I had the coding knowledge I would help ya too.

Vadi

Post by Vadi »

I agree with this as well.

Regarding the interface - I think it should be done via settings, where you link your map profile with another map profile. File names, folder of backups and such are Mudlet-internal things and I don't think the user should be fussed about it, plus it'd be easier to select and understand if they had one option - "I'd like this map linked with <choose profile or "no"> profile".

So for #1, I don't think this should be in, plus we should have a proper USB support where Mudlets home directory itself is customizable instaed.