idea to make 'mapping' non-IRE's easier/possible

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
codenoob

idea to make 'mapping' non-IRE's easier/possible

Post by codenoob »

Hello
I have no experience of any mud except discworld.atuin.net, and wholly appreciate that my request/idea for an alternative/last resort 'mapper' may be too niche for mudlet to incorporate, but thought i would put the idea up as, if it turned out other muds were similar in certain respects, i think the following could be a very functional way of dealing with harder-to-map muds.

discworld has:
no mxp(/atcp?????) or equivalent support for roomnumber,
many rooms with the same short and/or long description,
a very well drawn set of maps entirely external to the mud (eg: http://daftjunk.com/dw/Bes_Pelargic.gif),
generic movement commands (north/n, south/s, etc.).

If there was
a)
a console in mudlet which you loaded an image, where say right click created a room in a map db, and tied it to the (x,y) you clicked on, and say left click drag between rooms created exits between them [perhaps 'guessing' what types of exits they were based on the slope of the line].
(edit: i guess you wouldnt really need to have an image loaded at all, as in drawing the rooms/exits you are basically creating all info you would need to draw a map anyway?
could you just do it by opening a console and entering the commands you would use to move around the area you wanted to draw to save cleeecking/ignore all output and simply make a map from the user's movements while in the mud?
isn't this the whole idea of a non db based map amnyway :P?)

b)
a console that loaded a select portion of the main map image, centered around some (x,y), as determined by [user-set position] + [movements since set]

one user could map discworld's cities [would not work so well for terrains hehe] with maybe 2000 clicks of a mouse and some temporary triggers for portals.

would it be an efficient solution at all?