Feature Request(s)

All and any discussion and development of the Mudlet Mapper.
User avatar
Omit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:54 pm
Location: Middle Earth
Contact:

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Omit »

I think what he means is to be able to change the depth of the cubes(yes I know if you change the depth they are not cubes anymore).... doing so would allow you to view other levels easier (without the sides being so big and obscuring the view) ... top view is nice but I like this idea a lot too...

Junq
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:28 am

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Junq »

tsuujin wrote:
Junq wrote:I would like to see the option to flatten rooms. They would keep the same 3D effects but be more like sqares instead of cubes.
This already exists. Click on "top view"
Just because you can only see the top of a cube doesn't make it flat but Omit said it much better: the settings to adjust dimensions of rooms.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Heiko »

I tried flat cubes in the beginning. The result was not good and made things even harder to see in complex maps.

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Heiko »

mudlettest wrote:Actually, linking to Nirvana can be very useful. For example i move to new room and it could show me all exits the room currently has, so i can just map further by just looking at map - all exits that have to be mapped are clearly seen.
Where is the problem? If you see exits to unknown rooms, you create new rooms for them first and then set the appropriate exits. I know that the mapper api isn't documented at the moment and you have to rely on demo scripts. Have a look at my little Aardwolf demo. This works on the above principle i.e. you see an exit to north -> create a new room object and then set the respective exits. If you find out that this room exited before you change its id and update its exits appropriately. Deleting rooms isn't supported by now, but as soon as it is, you can simply delete all rooms without exits. That's no big problem.

To delete an exit set its id to 0. This will remove the exit. Room ID 0 is reserved for this purpose.

User avatar
Omit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:54 pm
Location: Middle Earth
Contact:

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Omit »

* function to return a room ID(or a table of room ids) based on a location and area (returning nil if none exists)
rID = searchLocation(Area,x,y,z)

I have created a Lua table to use as a cross reference to determine if there are any existing rooms in the direction of exits when I I am mapping.(in order to attach the exit to that room) I would love to be able to throw this table away. (this and the ability to assign an unlimited number of special exits and a database will no longer be required to map even the largest LP muds.)

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Heiko »

Such a function already exits for internal use (at least in my local version) so it only needs to be made accessible from Lua -> next update

User avatar
Omit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:54 pm
Location: Middle Earth
Contact:

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Omit »

Very cool... on that note... I have to put my scripting for the 3d mapper aside until the next update is available (It can be done right now but is complex and therefore buggy.... I have found myself duplicating much of what is available just to add the few items that are missing.... as these things will be added... I will stop for now and impatiently wait.)

Good work so far.

User avatar
Omit
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:54 pm
Location: Middle Earth
Contact:

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Omit »

* GetRoomName(rID)
a function to get a room name for a specific room would be helpful.(to verify room you are in is the one you expected). SearchRoom could be used but would be a lot less efficient. (now I am really going to try to stop thinking about it until the next update.) :)

User avatar
Heiko
Site Admin
Posts: 1548
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Heiko »

If I remember correctly, you can search for room IDs directly.

User avatar
Vadi
Posts: 4901
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Feature Request(s)

Post by Vadi »

Yeah, searchRoom(id)

Post Reply