New Life for Old Computer? Linux?

A category for whatever! Can be Mudlet-related or offtopic.
Orlendr

New Life for Old Computer? Linux?

Post by Orlendr »

Ok, I guess you can get Linux/Ubuntu or whatever it is for free, I have an old Compaq Desktop that used to have Windows XP Home on it, but when I went to reinstall the OS with the recovery disks we made I found out the disks for incomplete and now it has no OS on it. So I was wondering if it would be able to run Linux/Ubuntu, and that I would then be able to surf the net, play Mudlet, etc.

Any info would be great, I've never done anything with any other OS's before, and I would REALLY like to have my own computer again.

Vadi

Re: New Life for Old Computer? Linux?

Post by Vadi »

It would certainly work! I'd recommend you try Lubuntu or Xubuntu - they are different variants of Ubuntu that would work better on this older computer. You could try Ubuntu itself as well - see how it goes and good luck!

Orlendr

Post by Orlendr »

So all I need is to burn it onto a blank CD then pop it in the Compaq? Or could I somehow install it from this computer using an ethernet cord? (This is my moms laptop, a friend got it for her after the old Compaq starting giving her problems, it's also a Compaq but newer, it runs Windows 7).

Vadi

Post by Vadi »

Yeah just burn onto a CD, pop it in and it should show the Ubuntu installer (if the laptop is by default setup to boot from the CD - if it's not, you can change the boot order, it should show you how).

kevutian

Post by kevutian »

I use this for old hardware. Extremely fast distribution.

http://crunchbanglinux.org/

Orlendr

Post by Orlendr »

Well, I put xubuntu onto a disc and it seems to be working, but its not installed on the computer. I think it's on the desktop, but nothings come up, it just sits there "thinking" (Y'know, when the pointer turns into a circle and it just keeps spinning). :? It took forever just to get past the loading screen... :|

Orlendr