Tabbed chat

Geyser is an object oriented framework for creating, updating and organizing GUI elements within Mudlet.
naftali
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by naftali » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:27 am

chatStartup()

I find it's a bad time to have things this complicated rerun themselves every time you look at the script, so this one only runs (or resets with any changes you make to it) when you call that function.

Wyd
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:56 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by Wyd » Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:00 am

naftali wrote:chatStartup()

I find it's a bad time to have things this complicated rerun themselves every time you look at the script, so this one only runs (or resets with any changes you make to it) when you call that function.
An quick and easy fix for that is to just change chatStartup() to:
Code: [show] | [select all] lua

function chatStartup()
 if chatLoaded then return
 else chatLoaded = true end

 -- Rest of the code here
end
Done that way, you can place chatStartup() at the bottom of the script item, and it will load when you first start Mudlet, but won't reload everything unless you set chatLoaded back to nil/false, then recall chatStartup()

Wyd

tarrant
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:36 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by tarrant » Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:43 pm

Is it right that if i click 'All' to select it, then when i click it again, the topborder gets set to 0?

naftali
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by naftali » Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:05 pm

tarrant wrote:Is it right that if i click 'All' to select it, then when i click it again, the topborder gets set to 0?
Yes, that should happen whenever you click the currently selected tab. The reason I change the border is so scolling up works properly when the chat box is blocking the top part of the screen, and then when you want a taller screen you can hide the chat box.

tarrant
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:36 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by tarrant » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:09 pm

'cgag off' is supposed to allow the text to appear on my main window as well as the chat console right?
doesn't seem to be working for me, i didn't edit anything.

rstarnes1972
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by rstarnes1972 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:09 am

thanks to Naftali helping a little while logged in to Achaea, my tabbed chat is working pretty nicely. The only thing that is a little odd is the ping sound i get with every "tell". Any suggestions?

naftali
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by naftali » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:04 am

rstarnes1972 wrote:thanks to Naftali helping a little while logged in to Achaea, my tabbed chat is working pretty nicely. The only thing that is a little odd is the ping sound i get with every "tell". Any suggestions?
Hrm, odd. Look in the trigger for the "play sound" box and if it's checked uncheck it?

ironicangelladyv
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Tabbed chat

Post by ironicangelladyv » Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:22 pm

I installed the package, but the tabbed interface isn't showing. Also part of tells and messages from the Newbie channel are cut off in the main console window. The first line doesn't show, but the second and third lines (if they exist for the messages) do show. I checked the script debugger and it says that chatlabels is a nil value. I'm not really sure why that would be nil, looking at the code. (I used to code all the time as a computer science major, so I don't need "dumbed down" explanations.) Thanks for your help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests