Scripting Help

Necrite

Scripting Help

Post by Necrite »

I'm new to Mudlet so please excuse me if this question is answered somewhere and I haven't found it yet. I'm looking to build a Move/Kill script for the mud I play and I can't seem to find a function that Mudlet processes for each line returned. Does anybody know a way to fire off a script for an incoming event and by not using the trigger system?

Vadi

Re: Scripting Help

Post by Vadi »

Why not use the trigger system?

Necrite

Post by Necrite »

Maybe I need to be better explain what it is i'm doing. I currently have a text file with all the information about a zone i'm currently running. This file has Mob names, and descriptions for each Mobile in that zone. It also has a Path set in the file. Below is a very short example of what is in my files:
MOBILE Boy
DESC Shteran boy's spirit wanders here.
DESC Shteran boys plead for mercy.
PATH
s
s
s
s
s
s
s
END

When my current scripts I runs, it reads all Mobs in the room, along with how many, then starts to kill. After the room is clear, it then moves on to the next move defined in the array. Being able to process like this is much easier as I can do all string matches within the script it's self, and not involve the trigger system.

I have thought about making triggers to match the Mobs as I enter the rooms, but I have been running into issues with it. I would prefer not to make a single trigger for each type of Mob's as that list can be very long depending on the zone i'm in. I've been trying to use a single trigger for each description and using a script to match with the output using matches[, i being the number from the line i'm trying to match with. Below are some of the strings in the triggers i'm using.