Very simple paths?

panamaniac

Very simple paths?

Post by panamaniac »

So I'm very new at this, and I can tell that the complex stuff is way beyond me.

What I'm trying to do is simple: imagine a 10x10 square of rooms, with me starting in ne corner. I want a path/speedwalk that goes 10s, 10w, 10n, 10e...but that I can stop and restart along the way at designated places. Restarting with the same command is the key. For example, let's say I wanted to stop in se, sw, and nw corners. Ideally, I'd start the walk, it would go 10s and stop. Then, when I nod or something, it would go 10 w and stop, waiting for another nod.

Does something like this exist or can it be created? I can't find a way to do it in mudlet.

FYI, how I'm currently managing this is by having lots of aliases. For instance, "a1" to make me go 10s, then "a2" to make me go 10w, etc. It's a lot more cumbersome simply b/c I have to type the next number (e.g., a78) for each new room.

Thanks for any help for this noob!

demonnic

Re: Very simple paths?

Post by demonnic »

So you know where you'll want to stop each time?

If that's the case, it's not too bad. For each such path, you would make a table
Code: [show] | [select all] lua
pathing = pathing or{}
pathing.currentPath = pathing.currentPath of ""
pathing.currentNode = pathing.currentNode or 0
pathing.walks = pathing.walks or {}
pathing.walks.someWalkName = { "10s", "10w", "10n", "10e"}
--you would continue to add others as pathing.walks.someOtherWalkName, etc

Where someWalkName is a convenient name for you to remember the path set. To walk it, I would use two aliases... startPathing and cp (for continue pathing, but nice and short.. you could use anything really)
--startPathing alias. matches on "^startPathing (\w+)$"
pathing.currentPath = matches[2]
pathing.currentNode = 1
speedwalk(pathing.walks[pathing.currentPath][pathing.currentNode])
and cp: